Skip to content

Resolve 12: Same Windows PC, but new case

October 5, 2015

DSCF1833-1080b

In a previous post I describe the DIY Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit PC I built to run Davinci Resolve 12 video editing and grading software

In my original build I used a very compact, horizontal HTPC-style ATX PC case made by SilverStone (refer to the previous post for details). I really like the small size of the HTPC case, but after using it for a few weeks I decided it was too small to be practical for my purposes. The major issue was that its small size made it difficult to troubleshoot inevitable hardware issues, and likewise difficult or impossible to do certain hardware customizations and install new hardware.

For an additional $50 (after discounts & rebates) I bought a basic “mid-size tower” style ATX PC case, the Corsair 300R, and re-installed all the components into the new case.

The new case has 3 drive bays on the front (the small case only had 1 drive bay), so I installed two of my 3TB 3.5″ HDDs in trayless (slide out) backplanes I already owned. This makes swapping drives super-easy. I also installed into the bigger case the dual 2.5″ SSD trayless backplanes previously installed in the small case.

Additional benefits of the bigger case are that all the computer components run much cooler, and it’s quieter, too, because the case  & CPU cooler fans don’t have to run as fast to maintain temps.

Here’s a look inside the new case:

DSCF1819-1080

The 4 case fans are installed like this: 2 on the top (blow air out/up), 1 on the rear (blow air out), and 1 one the front (blow air in). The case has lots of ventilation.

RAID performance:

I’m using Intel’s Rapid Storage Technology RAID utility software to create and maintain the RAIDs.

Below is the Disk Speed Test results for a 480GB RAID-0 (two Kingston Hyper-X 240GB SSDs) temporarily installed the PC’s dual 2.5″ trayless bays. (Note: The numbers are megaBYTES per second, not megaBITs/sec.!) As SSDs get bigger and bigger, this type of configuration gets more & more useful:

DiskSpeedTest_480gb_240gb_x2_ssd_intel_raid-0_151004

Below are the results for the 6TB RAID-0 (two 7200rpm 3TB HDDs) in the 3.5” trayless bays. Not as fast as two SSDs, but not too shabby either — and obviously much bigger storage, and less expensive, than SSDs:

DiskSpeedTest_6tb_7200rpm_3tb_x_2_hdd_intel_raid-0_151004

These RAID speeds are quite adequate for my immediate requirements when editing 1080p and 4K UHD ProRes and RAW footage from my Blackmagic Production Camera 4K.

©2015 Peter J. DeCrescenzo. All rights reserved. http://www.peterdv.com

Note: I don’t receive income or remuneration for this blog, or for products seen or mentioned here. Advertisements on the page have nothing to do with me. The ads support WordPress, the publisher.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Resolve 12: My Windows PC build (done!) | Here For The Weather

Comments are closed.

