Skip to content

BMPC-4K: Like trains? (Updated)

December 3, 2014

Every winter, Portland’s Oregon Rail Heritage Foundation runs a “Holiday Express” train pulled by a steam locomotive.

It’s great to watch the train as it r-o-a-r-s by, billowing smoke and steam in the near-freezing cold air. If you make a reservation you can buy a ticket and ride the train for a few miles.

I shot the video footage above for fun last weekend with my BMPC-4K camera. It’s 4K ProRes 422 footage shot at 23.98fps, Film, ISO400, with a Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 lens @ f8.

Scaled to 1080p in FCP7 and exported as 1080p @ 10 megabits/sec H264 for Vimeo.

In previous years I’ve shot footage of these trains using a CMOS sensor camera with a rolling shutter. When positioned near the big heavy locomotive as it passes, it makes the ground (and tripod) shake, resulting in RS jello city. One more reason I love the BMPC-4K’s global shutter — no jello!

For the extreme wide shot I used 2 microphones and my SoundDevices MixPre to record stereo audio into my BMPC-4K camera. The last 30-seconds sound especially great. I also used a graduated ND filter to darken the sky slightly. The zoom and pan was created in FCP by scaling 4K video from 50% to 90% in a 1080p timeline.

Below is a 2.39:1 cropped (3840 x 1608) frame grabbed from the video:

xmas_train_xws_blog

UPDATE 12/13/14: The still image below is a 3840 x 1608 frame (2.39:1 cropped) from “4K” video I shot handheld at Portland’s Alpenrose Dairy today. (The video itself isn’t ready to show yet.) The dairy is a unique & complex location; check out their website! Every December Alpenrose has nice displays of holiday lights, farm animals, and model trains. They have 2 big toy train models set up. Really nicely done, and maintained by employees & volunteers. The guys running the train exhibit say I’m welcome to come back again with my camera & tripod — I’ll definitely try to take them up on their generous offer!

alpenrose_train_1b

©2014 Peter J. DeCrescenzo. All rights reserved. http://www.peterdv.com

Note: I don’t receive income or remuneration for this blog, or for products seen or mentioned here. Advertisements on the page have nothing to do with me. The ads support WordPress, the publisher.

Comments are closed.

